Albion Riders Achieve All-Academic Status

Albion Riders Achieve All-Academic Status

Capping a strong year of competition in the saddle, 21 members of the Albion College hunt seat and stock seat teams were recently recognized by the Intercollegiate Horse Show Association (IHSA) when they were placed on the organization's National All-Academic teams.

The purpose of the IHSA's academic awards are to demonstrate the strength of equestrian athletes both in sport and in the classroom. Coaches and team advisors nominate their student-equestrians annually and those who achieve All-Academic first team or All-Academic second team standing are honored alongside their peers from 417 other member colleges and universities nationally.

In 2016, Albion was among the top five teams with the highest number of riders recognized from their team roster. In fact, the Britons had more academically ranked equestrians than Stanford University and Dartmouth College.

Based on their fall semester GPA in all courses, Albion's first team riders for the 2015-2016 academic year were:

Madeline Beattie (sophomore – Mount Prospect, Ill./Prospect)
Elliot Brinker (sophomore – Livonia/Adlai Stevenson)
Cayla Dupuis (junior – Glenview, Ill./Glenbrook South)
Shannon Ervin (first-year – Ortonville/Brandon)
Kristine Mussell (junior – Midland/H.H. Dow)
Shannon Parker (first-year – Bloomfield Hills/Marian)
Taylor Sandberg (sophomore - Spring Lake/Spring Lake)
Sadie Wayman (first-year – Holly/Home School)

These riders achieved a GPA of 3.8 or better; in addition, hunt seat riders Dupuis and Wayman also qualified for IHSA Regionals while Sandberg won her section of IHSA Stock Seat Regionals and qualified for semi finals.

The riders named to the All-Academic second team secured GPAs of 3.5 or higher during fall semester. They were:

Margaret Alway (first-year – Ludington/Mason County Central)
Marjori Boldt (sophomore – Traverse City/Traverse City Central)
Megan Brown (junior – Temecula, Calif./Great Oak)
Natalya DiCiacca (sophomore – Temperance/Bedford)
Emily Galka (junior – Cadillac/Cadillac)
Rebekah Jefvert (first-year – Fowler, Ind./Benton Central)
Elisabeth Kate Sears (senior – Ann Arbor/Huron)
Camille Sawicki (senior – Jenison/Jenison)
Jourdan Tonti (sophomore – Livonia/Churchill)
Danielle Townsend (sophomore – Springport/Springport)
Phillip Voglewede (first-year – Oxford, Ind./Benton Central)
Allison Voorhess (junior – Mount Clemens/Lutheran North)
Alyssa Wright (senior – White Pigeon/White Pigeon)

Galka, Sawicki, Sears, Townsend, Voglewede, and Voorhess also qualified for IHSA regionals in their respective divisions and Tonti won the stock seat regional title in the intermediate division to secure a place in the 2016 semi finals.

The IHSA is the nation's oldest and largest intercollegiate equestrian organization, boasting a membership of over 9,000 student equestrians for the 2015-2016 academic year. Of those, just 501 were nominated to the All-Academic first and second teams this year.