Albion Announces 2016 Athletic Hall of Fame Class

Albion Announces 2016 Athletic Hall of Fame Class

Albion College will induct 10 individuals and Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association champion cross country teams from 1964-66 and baseball teams from 1995 and 1996 into its Athletic Hall of Fame Oct. 14-15, Athletic Director Matt Arend announced Wednesday.

The honorees will join the current 295 individuals of the Albion Athletic Hall of Fame. The induction dinner will be held Oct. 14 at Baldwin Hall with the 2016 class also being recognized before the Albion-Adrian football game the following day. Visit for more information.

The list of 10 individuals for the 2016 class includes:

Stacy Chapman Rich (women's golf, 1999-2002): A three-time all-MIAA first team performer who was a member of the Britons MIAA champion squads in 1999 and 2000.

Keith Debbaudt (football, 1998-2000): A 2000 American Football Coaches Association All-American who was an all-MIAA first team pick in 1999 and 2000. He was a member of Albion's MIAA champion teams in 1998 and 1999.

Larry Downs (men's basketball, 1962-66): Averaged nearly 18 ½ points per game to achieve all-MIAA first team distinction in 1965. A four-year starter for the Britons, he captained the team for two seasons.

Eric Johnson (baseball, 1993-96): The two-time all-MIAA first team pick finished with an overall record of 20-6 and a 2.66 earned run average. A member of the MIAA champion teams in 1995 and 1996, Johnson held the MIAA records with 17 victories and a .850 winning percentage when he graduated.

Craig Miller (football, 1974-76): A three-year starter on the football team's defensive line and a four-year starter for the club lacrosse program, he has made his mark internationally as the chief media/communications officer for USA Basketball.

Denise Routhier (women's track & field, 1996-99): Gained all-MIAA distinction as a two-time league champion in the triple jump.

Hayden Smith (men's track & field, 1967-70): The MIAA long jump champion in 1970, high jump runner-up in 1968 and place winner in four events in 1969. He was the Britons most improved track & field athlete in 1968 and co-captain in 1969 and 1970.  

Jeri Stiles (men's track & field, 1965-66): The two-time MIAA champion in the mile run was elected the Britons co-captain.

Michael Thomas (men's basketball, 2001-05): The three-time all-MIAA first team pick was a guard on Briton squads winning MIAA championships in 2003 and 2005. He sits second on Albion's all-time scoring ladder with 1,389 points.

Kurt Wiese (football and baseball, 1974-78): Nominated by Hall of Fame coach Frank Joranko and teammates, he played tight end in football and first base in baseball. He was a member of three MIAA champion teams (1976 and 1977 football and 1976 baseball).

More about the teams slated for induction:

1964-66 cross country: Albion went a perfect 18-0 in dual meets against MIAA rivals to win three consecutive league championships.

1995-96 baseball: Led by MIAA most valuable players Brad Brown (1995) and Brian Myers (1996), the Britons compiled a two-year record of 28-8 against league competition.